Yawn … will there be a test on this stuff ???

Greetings Carnivores,

Today my post is going to put the finishing touches on yesterdays discussion regarding inspection and Grading.  This stuff is pretty dry but … here’s the rest of it.

The Grades themselves are broken down as follows:

1. GRADE A – Youthful animals, High quality.
This grade is broken down into four divisions, A1 through A4, depending on the amount of fat covering on the forth quadrant of rib eye between the 11th and 12th ribs.

2. GRADE B – youthful animals, poorer quality.
Again, four divisions, B1 through B4, depending on fat covering as in A1-4.

3. GRADE C – Intermediate aged animals.

4. GRADE D – Mature cows.

5. GRADE E – Mature bulls.

GRADE A is marked with a RED ‘ribbon’ brand, GRADE B with BLUE, GRADE C with BROWN, and GRADES D and E are both marked with BLACK.

Follow me on Twitter and ‘like’ me on http://www.facebook.com/carnivoreconfidential … thanks for reading !

3 thoughts on “Yawn … will there be a test on this stuff ???

  1. Pingback: Black Angus Beef … what’s the big deal?? | Carnivore Confidential

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s